Morning Oatmeal–The Cleansing Grains Revolution

I’m not quite sure how I missed it.  I am a skin care professional, but somehow the mega trend of sloughing the dead stuff off your face with a combination of clay, grains, fruits, and general trail mix ingredients.

Most likely, it’s the fact that I’m dubious about using food for cosmetic purposes.  You’ll never see me put egg whites in my hair or mushed avocado on my face al la Miley.

Nothing is classy about this face mask…

But, just this once, I’m willing to put my food anxieties aside, because there are some nice ideas behind cleansing grains.

So, what are they?

Cleansing grains are a mash of clay, tea, dry honey, dry milk–and many other mechanical exfolliants than can help buff away dead skin, remove makeup, and soothe skin.

What’s so great about them?

Allergens–No Parabens or Sulfates–as long as you make your own grains and keep out any food allergens, you’re looking at a chemically, gentle cleanser.  If you’re like me and have to avoid the parabens and sulfates (thanks perioral dermatitis!) cleansing grains could be the product of your dreams.

Easy to DIY–Other than ordering some clay, most of the ingredients you can find at the local health food store.

Customizable–Making your own grains means you can adjust ingredients for your skin type. Green Clay, is great for oily skin, Kaolin clay is best for sensitive, and Bentonite is perf for all skin types! Check them out here. Plus, you can sent them to your liking!

Cost Level–Whether your DIYing your grains, buying from Etsy, or getting high end, there are many price points, but are all comprised of high quality ingredients

I’m not sure I’m ready to invest time in a DIY, but will probably get myself some of the lovely options on Etsy.

Have you tried cleansing grains?  What are your thoughts?

Tell me about it in the comments!

Now I just mush this on my face. Yeah?

Now I just mush this on my face. Yeah?

peace. love. and bobby pins.

xoxo

a

Leave a Reply

